I Have A Sudden Urge to Play Fallout 3: the Fallout 1 Review

Fallout
Have you ever played a game, and suddenly wanted to play a different game, because of the first game? That’s exactly what happened to me when I sat down with Fallout 1. You need to understand that I played, and beat, Fallout 3 before touching Fallout 1. I can’t play this game without thinking about how much fun its distant sequel is.

I’ve asked a friend of mine why people think Fallout 3 isn’t a true successor to Fallout 1, and the answer apparently comes down to the tactical map used for combat. That’s fair, from one perspective, but I feel like the essence of the gameplay is basically the same. I mean, I really just see Fallout 3 as a first person, three-dimensional, version of the series. Same humor. Same universe. Same atmosphere. Same themes. Same gameplay (except, arguably, the combat).

I’m harping on this because I’d come into Fallout 1 expecting it to be different. Perhaps… better? I mean, I liked 3, but I was given some high expectations for this game that it didn’t meet. It’s kind of short and not so open-world as the game map makes it appear to be. It’s occasionally obtuse in the worst ways. There’s a nasty couple bugs that even the modding community hasn’t fixed in over a decade. I really hope I’m not surprising anybody when I point out the game has flaws, but I feel like it needs be said. It’s a good game, but I feel like 3 improved upon the formula.

As for the game itself, well, it’s Fallout. I think I ought to have a general “Fallout universe” review some time, because I don’t want to go through five reviews repeating how awesome power armor is or how horrifying super mutants are.

For now I’ll say that in spite of its flaws, it’s a good game. If you’re looking for a solid RPG, give it a go, especially if you like Fallout 3. It’s good to know your roots.

Leave a Reply

